Skip to main content

What it Means to be a SwimMom!

I feel I have been remiss, negligent, careless, lax and oh so slack (got to love the thesaurus).  Here I have I have designated myself "THE SWIM MOM" and yet only in passing do I mention the very sport I have tied myself too.  Really, how can I be "THE SWIM MOM" when I let the whole of the Olympics go by with nary a mention?  Michael Phelps did earn 8 gold medals an Olympic record and "THE SWIM MOM" says nothing.  It is a shame a ... (ok, ok I won't use the thesaurus again), and past due that I spend a little time on "THESWIMMOM" blog posting about the sport of swimming.  So here is an interview between "THE SWIMMOM" and me.

Q.  How long have you been involved with swimming and what made you become involved in swimming?

A.  When our first child had reached the stage of walking all the sudden a fear of her toddling off in to her grandparents pool and drowning became very real. So in an effort to "drown proof" her we put her in swim lessons.  At 18 months of age you have two choices, as a non-swimmer, you can take a mommy and me class (NO WAY was I going to do that, run around in a swimsuit, nuh uhh not me) or you can put your little tike in private lessons. We opted for the private lessons where they taught your little one how to get to the edge of the pool if she fell in.  Our oldest who is now almost 12 did awesome and thus began the tradition of our children taking private lessons until the age of 3 and then moving into group classes.




First Day of Swim Lessons

Splashing around with Jilly Bean

Now I will skip ahead five years move to a different state and enroll our oldest again in swim lessons.  Where it is discovered she is in a level to low for her.  Move her up a level, NOPE, not that one either, move her up one more level and suddenly you find that your six year old is in level that most kids do not take until they are ten or older (I didn't know this at the time). Within a year our oldest had moved through all the remaining levels and found herself the only girl in a class full of boys in swim team prep.  

"Hey Mom, where is the pool?"

When it comes to my kids I'm what you would call a question gal.  My mind started to buzz, what is swim team prep, who can be on swim team, what do you have to do to be on swim team? We started going to swim lesson's early so that our oldest could watch the swim team practice.  She thought it was kind of cool.  Meanwhile the class of boys were kicking her but. (Most of them, I know now, were over twelve and she was barely seven at this point) One day after class she got out of the pool just steamed that they beat her time and time again.  At the time I happened to be standing near the high school records board and said, "Look, at those times the boys times are always faster."  Again what I didn't know then that I know now is my daughter is a tad of a feminist.  The next day at class she beat those boy's time and time again. She was  awesome! 

Our oldest first swim meet (indoor pool pictures are notoriously bad)

To tie this question up, shortly after that she joined the swim team.  "TheSwimMom," wasn't born yet but in a short while a whole world that I didn't even know exist would become a major part of my life. What had started out as a mom afraid of her baby drowning would turn into a whole new lifestyle.

Outdoor Swim Meet 2008, Four years and still going strong 

"The best part of swim meets is down time, where you can take pictures of yourself."

Ask "TheSwimMom" is going to be a weekly post so if you have any questions let me know.  Next week I will be talking about swim equipment.  Swimsuits, goggles, flippers what you should buy what you shouldn't waste your money on and how to keep chlorine from eating it all gone.

Comments

Willow said…
Okay SwimMom, why is it that beach volleyball players play in the smallest bikinis this side of Europe, yet the swimmers swim in full neck to ankle wear? Are those hideous suits really necessary?

Also, how is it that Spedo thinks that all swimmers are horrible flat chested? Can a girl get a Spedo suit with some... support?

Finally, How did Spedo become the brand of competition?

Be warned, I may have new questions next week.
Willow said…
Oops... should Speedo have to Es in it? Speedo does look better than Spedo.
Krissi said…
Believe it or not I can totally answer these questions. Ok, well not the beach volley ball question, because this is not "THE BEACH VOLLEY BALL MOM" but I can answer the speedo support question. It is all about streamline. Which if I remember right you have a husband that was all about the shaved head before a swim meet. Again streamline. The unfortunate reality of girls and swimsuits is smash those puppies down or else they are going to add seconds and those seconds may cost you a world record. More info next week where we will explore Willows questions more throughly. Which by the way totally make me laugh. So bring it on!
Willow said…
Okay, I can accept streamline. Still, those womens' suits look sufficiently uncomfortable to keep me from swimming competitively. Notice I say that like I would totally take up swimming tomorrow were it not for unattractive, unsupportive suits.... HAHAHAHAHA... I am so not anywhere near athletic!!!

Next question, why in a 4x4 relay will the swimmers wear the ankle to neck monstosity, yet in a single event Mr. Phleps wore just some scanalously tight trunks?

Also, was anyone else concerned that the camera might catch a shot of Phelps's Finkle as he was jumping and cheering on deck whilst his suit (the full body one) was half pulled down? I swear, I was really nervous that the swimwear would slip and we would see "the full Monty."

Popular posts from this blog

At my Age

I saw this quote the other day and had to smile. It has been interesting finishing school at my age. I have had this feeling more than once that I am a little old, and finishing school is something I should have done a long time ago. Usually I remind myself that we all have our own paths to take in life. My path had me marry at 19 and become the mother of four beautiful rug rats by 27. Marriage and children defined me more than anything. I became more aware of my talents and abilities. I really didn't know who I was before I became a wife and mother. Waiting until now to finish my degree gave me time to figure out who I am. Well, at least to have a better idea of who I am. I love being in a classroom, I love learning, and I love helping others learn. My inner nerd does little happy dances every time I learn something new. Each person on this planet has their own God given talents. We have a responsibility to find our talents and to make the world a better place. How old you are wh...

Hip Hip Hurray, Tomorrow is PIE Day

Well in a little less then 24 hours I am going to have to reset this counter.  I can hardly believe that it says 30 days.  I have to tell you I never thought I would make it this many days I really thought I would have to reset it at some point in time. It has been a huge motivation for me knowing that you guys are watching the counter.  Also, knowing that even if you didn't catch me in the time allowed you would see that I punked.  That I didn't have the self control, not to eat sugar. Every time I would think of eating a goodie, I would think about reseting the clock.  I would wonder who was online, I would wonder if I would get caught, I would wonder who would catch me.  By the time I got through thinking about all of that I would decide the treat wasn't worth it. Another motivation has been my kids, who have said, "Mom you don't have to reset the counter no one would know."  I wanted them to see that  I could be honest and not do something I shouldn't ...

Stepping Up to the Plate

This is going to be one of those braggy, braggy post just thought I would warn you. Life has gotten to the point that it is completely out of control. I’m not really sure what we were thinking when we had four children in the span of six years. I also don’t know why I thought it was difficult when they were small because life now is, as I said, completely out of control. Everyone is at the age that they are involved or doing something. Our nights have become logistic nightmares. Pick up here, drop off here, go here, and stop here. It is craziness. Added to this insanity is the fact that we are currently a one-vehicle family. A couple of months ago as I was signing Al. up for basketball I was desperately trying to talk H. out of playing basketball. He has only wanted to play since he was four and every year he would remind me how many more years until he could play. Why, oh Why did I not say he had to be 16? Eventually, I gave in and signed him up knowing it was going to be tough to fit...