Skip to main content

Blind

I wear contacts. Most days I have my contacts in for close to 16 hours. Most nights my contacts come out after a 1/2 hour of my eyes yelling, "That's enough! Get these things out." My eyes itch, water and burn until I finally take them out.

Once the contacts are out I am instantly plunged into a fuzzy wuzzy world. Everything becomes non-descript and takes on a basic fuzzy shape. Except for small things. Small things simply disappear all together. Small things like eye glasses.

Eye glasses that I need in order to see. Every night I go through the same routine of trying to hunt down my eye glasses AFTER I have taken my contacts out. Every night I ask myself WHY don't you find them before you take your contacts out?

I search high, most of the time I have left them on a dresser, night stand or bathroom counter. I search low I have been known to throw them on the floor after reading at night. Most of the time under the bed so I don't accidentally step on them.

What is most amusing about this hunt is I can't see a darn thing. Most of the time my hands pass within inches of said glasses. I end up moving on to the next stop with the glasses remaining in place at the last spot.

Some of you are asking, Why I don't leave them in the same spot each night? I don't know I guess for the same reason I don't find them when I can still see. Again, I don't know the answer to that question.

The end result is I spend a good 1/2 hour every night stumbling around the house looking for the suckers. Now ask me why my husband and kids don't help.

I know the answer to that.

They think it is dang funny to watch mom stumble around for a 1/2 hour every night.

Comments

Scott and Stacy said…
I read this one out loud to Scott and the kids. We all got a good laugh. I didn't know your eye were that bad. That would be funny to see.
Louise said…
LOL Krissi. Why don't you get a handful of those cheapish reading glasses and place them in strategic places around the house?

Have a great day - and I hope you find your glasses tonight :o)

Popular posts from this blog

At my Age

I saw this quote the other day and had to smile. It has been interesting finishing school at my age. I have had this feeling more than once that I am a little old, and finishing school is something I should have done a long time ago. Usually I remind myself that we all have our own paths to take in life. My path had me marry at 19 and become the mother of four beautiful rug rats by 27. Marriage and children defined me more than anything. I became more aware of my talents and abilities. I really didn't know who I was before I became a wife and mother. Waiting until now to finish my degree gave me time to figure out who I am. Well, at least to have a better idea of who I am. I love being in a classroom, I love learning, and I love helping others learn. My inner nerd does little happy dances every time I learn something new. Each person on this planet has their own God given talents. We have a responsibility to find our talents and to make the world a better place. How old you are wh...

Hip Hip Hurray, Tomorrow is PIE Day

Well in a little less then 24 hours I am going to have to reset this counter.  I can hardly believe that it says 30 days.  I have to tell you I never thought I would make it this many days I really thought I would have to reset it at some point in time. It has been a huge motivation for me knowing that you guys are watching the counter.  Also, knowing that even if you didn't catch me in the time allowed you would see that I punked.  That I didn't have the self control, not to eat sugar. Every time I would think of eating a goodie, I would think about reseting the clock.  I would wonder who was online, I would wonder if I would get caught, I would wonder who would catch me.  By the time I got through thinking about all of that I would decide the treat wasn't worth it. Another motivation has been my kids, who have said, "Mom you don't have to reset the counter no one would know."  I wanted them to see that  I could be honest and not do something I shouldn't ...

Stepping Up to the Plate

This is going to be one of those braggy, braggy post just thought I would warn you. Life has gotten to the point that it is completely out of control. I’m not really sure what we were thinking when we had four children in the span of six years. I also don’t know why I thought it was difficult when they were small because life now is, as I said, completely out of control. Everyone is at the age that they are involved or doing something. Our nights have become logistic nightmares. Pick up here, drop off here, go here, and stop here. It is craziness. Added to this insanity is the fact that we are currently a one-vehicle family. A couple of months ago as I was signing Al. up for basketball I was desperately trying to talk H. out of playing basketball. He has only wanted to play since he was four and every year he would remind me how many more years until he could play. Why, oh Why did I not say he had to be 16? Eventually, I gave in and signed him up knowing it was going to be tough to fit...