Skip to main content

Soccer Mom's, On Your Mark, Get Ready, GO!!!

Today marked the first official day of the Soccer season. A day full of mixed feelings, on one hand there is the dread.  Dread of trying to figure out how to get multiple kids, to multiple fields, but funny enough at the same time. Can anyone tell me exactly how that works?  Of course on the other hand there is the kids.  Who love to play soccer, I guess they think there is something fun about chasing a ball all over a field. Again I will ask, can anyone tell me exactly how that works? 

The day started off with a 9am Henry game.  It was a beautiful 74 degree day with just the right amount of clouds to remind you of the second reason you love soccer.

Being outside on beautiful Utah days.


As previously stated the number 1 reason is because the kids love it.  I ask does this kid look like he is being tortured?

 
The number 3 reason is because of the uniform, where else can you take 
your kids wearing these clothes and people not look at you funny?


I'm not really a parent who keeps score because there are days you win and there are days you loose and if I care about the winning days then I would have to care about the loosing days.  The kids have told me that is a bunch of hooey.  They want me to keep track so I think Henry may have lost this game by one point.  But he thinks they tied so I will go with that.

The next game was Andrew's at 12 and Samantha's at 12:30 this meant Brent and I were headed in opposite directions so I grabbed this picture of Sam before she left. 

She thinks they look like Refs, the rest of us think she looks like a bumble bee, but again one of the best things about soccer, no one cares what color of uniform you are wearing.  Because frankly they are all ugly!

Had to grab this quick pic of Al because she has declined playing soccer this season. She said something about running after a ball all over a field being ridiculous. Hmm, it is a mystery which parent this kid takes after.:)

Ohh, come on it has been days since I posted a garden picture.  You've missed it, I know you have.  These gladiolas make you feel, well, Glad!


Ok, fine back to soccer this is a pic of Andrew's team.  Again I will point out the lovely uniform, do you fell like eating Lucky Charms right now?


It was a fun game and Andrew did this the whole game. Run and run and run and run and scored and scored and scored and scored and scored.  I don't count, I already told you that but I wont stop you from counting how many times I said scored (and you get to count that one too).

Unfortunately, our beautiful 74 had turned to a blistering 94 by his game and so all that running and all that scoring (by the way you can count that one too) had Andrew looking a little like this. 

I may have to delete this blog when the kids get old enough to be in therapy and the therapist says, "What do you think the source of your issues are." Andrew will then pull up this blog and say, "Gee Doc, what do you think?" But then again the doctor will see that I sacrificed each and every one of my Saturdays every fall and spring and I will get some points back.  Right? 

It was a fun Saturday and all I have left to say is WOO HOO only 7 weeks left.  

Oh and Sam said to tell you, "We won our game 5 to zip. The other team sucked." I don't know where the kids get this.:)

Comments

Willow said…
What a fun day.... except for the 94 degree part. If it makes you feel any better we are expecting yet another heat wave. So, today should shape up to be about 100, or more.

Oh, and just for randomness, the comment you made about Lucky Charms reminded me of my newest "master-plan." I think it would be super cool to have one child that has an accent. I have started to speak to the baby in a Scottish/Irish/Pirate accent (my skills in dialect are not so refined that there is a huge difference between Scottish, Irish, or Pirate). Further, I told the rest of the family that they may talk to the baby but only in the approved dialect. Yes, Russ thinks the whole idea is a bit crazy, but it did make him laugh for a solid 10 minutes.... mission accomplished! =)
Race Fam said…
I love soccer season, I think I enjoy it more than baseball season, I love to watch Caden get aggressive since he is normally shy. I love to hear Brad's voice after a game it is totally hoarse from cheering. And yes your flowers are beautiful. Maybe you can make some grow in my front yard, my thumb is no where near being green!
Juicebox.mom said…
Great soccer photos...i'm also in full fall season readiness, my fave time of year.

Popular posts from this blog

At my Age

I saw this quote the other day and had to smile. It has been interesting finishing school at my age. I have had this feeling more than once that I am a little old, and finishing school is something I should have done a long time ago. Usually I remind myself that we all have our own paths to take in life. My path had me marry at 19 and become the mother of four beautiful rug rats by 27. Marriage and children defined me more than anything. I became more aware of my talents and abilities. I really didn't know who I was before I became a wife and mother. Waiting until now to finish my degree gave me time to figure out who I am. Well, at least to have a better idea of who I am. I love being in a classroom, I love learning, and I love helping others learn. My inner nerd does little happy dances every time I learn something new. Each person on this planet has their own God given talents. We have a responsibility to find our talents and to make the world a better place. How old you are wh...

Hip Hip Hurray, Tomorrow is PIE Day

Well in a little less then 24 hours I am going to have to reset this counter.  I can hardly believe that it says 30 days.  I have to tell you I never thought I would make it this many days I really thought I would have to reset it at some point in time. It has been a huge motivation for me knowing that you guys are watching the counter.  Also, knowing that even if you didn't catch me in the time allowed you would see that I punked.  That I didn't have the self control, not to eat sugar. Every time I would think of eating a goodie, I would think about reseting the clock.  I would wonder who was online, I would wonder if I would get caught, I would wonder who would catch me.  By the time I got through thinking about all of that I would decide the treat wasn't worth it. Another motivation has been my kids, who have said, "Mom you don't have to reset the counter no one would know."  I wanted them to see that  I could be honest and not do something I shouldn't ...

Stepping Up to the Plate

This is going to be one of those braggy, braggy post just thought I would warn you. Life has gotten to the point that it is completely out of control. I’m not really sure what we were thinking when we had four children in the span of six years. I also don’t know why I thought it was difficult when they were small because life now is, as I said, completely out of control. Everyone is at the age that they are involved or doing something. Our nights have become logistic nightmares. Pick up here, drop off here, go here, and stop here. It is craziness. Added to this insanity is the fact that we are currently a one-vehicle family. A couple of months ago as I was signing Al. up for basketball I was desperately trying to talk H. out of playing basketball. He has only wanted to play since he was four and every year he would remind me how many more years until he could play. Why, oh Why did I not say he had to be 16? Eventually, I gave in and signed him up knowing it was going to be tough to fit...