Skip to main content

It's January So...

It's January so that must mean it is time to paint. January is an awesome time of year to paint (insert sarcasm here).

The most obvious reason is because it is so cold you can't do anything outside. Which means it is so cold outside that you can not open the windows to keep from getting high on paint fumes. It also means that the paint will take twice as long to dry. So why I get the inkling to paint every January is beyond me.

I can tell you that new paint makes me happy. I know, it may have a little to do with the paint fumes but I think it has more to do with a fresh new coat of paint.

Last January I painted my room a cool (and I mean this like, a cool color, not like, "Dude that was so cool!") gray.

I really like the gray but all year I have felt like it needed something. Yes, some pictures on the wall and some furniture that wasn't early newly-wed but not so newly anymore would help. But it needed something MORE!

This weekend it started to come together. First of all I just have to tell you that Lowes and I have a relationship they understand my need for paint and they are more than happy to have their paint on sell, frequently.

This week Olympus Premium Low Odor paint was on sell. We haven't ever tried Olympus paint but it was on sell and what I have in mind for our room may backfire. Also, it is low odor and we can test just how much of my happiness is the new paint or just the paint. I'm going out on a limb here and keeping my fingers crossed as I jump out of the neutral world into the wow that is a color world.

P1176806

Because what I plan on doing is painting this wall,

P1176804

this color.

P1176818

Well here it goes, wish me luck!

P1176819

PS Low odor smells a little like play doh

Comments

Angie said…
Mmmmm, I love the smell of paint. I love the smell of play doh too. :) That color is awesome! Why you like to paint is beyond me, but I think it will look amazing.

Happy painting! I'm totally jealous of the smell.

Popular posts from this blog

At my Age

I saw this quote the other day and had to smile. It has been interesting finishing school at my age. I have had this feeling more than once that I am a little old, and finishing school is something I should have done a long time ago. Usually I remind myself that we all have our own paths to take in life. My path had me marry at 19 and become the mother of four beautiful rug rats by 27. Marriage and children defined me more than anything. I became more aware of my talents and abilities. I really didn't know who I was before I became a wife and mother. Waiting until now to finish my degree gave me time to figure out who I am. Well, at least to have a better idea of who I am. I love being in a classroom, I love learning, and I love helping others learn. My inner nerd does little happy dances every time I learn something new. Each person on this planet has their own God given talents. We have a responsibility to find our talents and to make the world a better place. How old you are wh...

Hip Hip Hurray, Tomorrow is PIE Day

Well in a little less then 24 hours I am going to have to reset this counter.  I can hardly believe that it says 30 days.  I have to tell you I never thought I would make it this many days I really thought I would have to reset it at some point in time. It has been a huge motivation for me knowing that you guys are watching the counter.  Also, knowing that even if you didn't catch me in the time allowed you would see that I punked.  That I didn't have the self control, not to eat sugar. Every time I would think of eating a goodie, I would think about reseting the clock.  I would wonder who was online, I would wonder if I would get caught, I would wonder who would catch me.  By the time I got through thinking about all of that I would decide the treat wasn't worth it. Another motivation has been my kids, who have said, "Mom you don't have to reset the counter no one would know."  I wanted them to see that  I could be honest and not do something I shouldn't ...

Stepping Up to the Plate

This is going to be one of those braggy, braggy post just thought I would warn you. Life has gotten to the point that it is completely out of control. I’m not really sure what we were thinking when we had four children in the span of six years. I also don’t know why I thought it was difficult when they were small because life now is, as I said, completely out of control. Everyone is at the age that they are involved or doing something. Our nights have become logistic nightmares. Pick up here, drop off here, go here, and stop here. It is craziness. Added to this insanity is the fact that we are currently a one-vehicle family. A couple of months ago as I was signing Al. up for basketball I was desperately trying to talk H. out of playing basketball. He has only wanted to play since he was four and every year he would remind me how many more years until he could play. Why, oh Why did I not say he had to be 16? Eventually, I gave in and signed him up knowing it was going to be tough to fit...